10/365

January 10, 2015:

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Call Me Ishmael.”

Take the first sentence from your favorite book and make it the first sentence of your post.

“Though brilliantly sunny, Saturday morning was overcoat weather again, not just topcoat weather, as it had been all week and as everyone hoped it would stay for the big weekend–the weekend of the Yale game.” Well, on my side of things, it is a Saturday, but definitely not brilliantly sunny. Today was quite the gloomy day in Seattle, which I suppose is somewhat typical most of the days, with slight rain here or there. It was the day of the Seahawks game, and David tried playing a game to see how long we could last without seeing someone with Seahawks gear, but it didn’t work out. When we went to breakfast, there was this cute little baby with the fattest cheeks I’ve ever seen, and even she had a Seahawks jersey on.

The quote is from the book Franny and Zooey by J.D. Salinger, and we had to read it for AP Lit back in high school. While I don’t really remember much of the book anymore, I remember finding myself being able to relate to a lot of the struggles of Franny, and I even wrote one of my college essays about the book. Maybe I should re-read it to see if it still has the same impact on me four years later.

Quote

Leave a Reply

